CMMC Compliance

Navigate CMMC Compliance Requirements

Contact Us

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC)

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is the United States Department of Defense (DoD) initiative to normalize and standardize cybersecurity preparedness across the federal government’s defense industrial base (DIB), the CMMC is an independent verification model designed to ensure the protection of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) that resides on the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) systems and networks.

Cybersecurity is a top priority for the Department of Defense.

The defense Industrial Base (DIB) is the target of increasing frequent and complex cyberattacks. To protect DIB and national security information, the DoD developed CMMC 2.0 to dynamically enhance DIB cybersecurity to meet evolving threats and safeguard the information that supports and enables our warfighters.


How Can We Help Your Organization
with CMMC Compliance?

Empowered IT Solutions focus is to support the small and medium DoD contractors and subcontractors, with a suite of affordable CMMC Services. Our senior IT Risk, Compliance and Governance experts and Certified Professional will guide you to meet the CMMC certification requirements.

Our staff of CMMC Certified Professionals (CCP) and Register Practitioners (RP) will assist your team through the CMMC path to be ready for the CMMC Certification by a certified third-party assessment organization (C3PAO).

CMMC Services

Empowered IT Solution has developed a suite of affordable CMMC Services special design for the small and medium DoD contractors and sub-contractors, the suite of CMMC Services includes:

Picture of Aaron-Adrian Hernandez | Certified CMMC Professional

Aaron-Adrian Hernandez | Certified CMMC Professional

Successfully completing the Cyber Certified CMMC Professional (CCP) training and exam, Aaron-Adrian has become one of the first CCPs in the country.

He is certified with in-depth knowledge of the CMMC standard and the requirements to appropriately secure Federal Contract Information (FCI), Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI), and defend against Advanced Persistent Threats (APT).

Flexible & Affordable Services for Your CMMC Needs

No matter what level of support your organization needs, we will ensure you are ready for CMMC Certification. Our team of certified professionals can assist you with a comprehensive suite of services, ranging from identifying sensitiveness of CUI information to develop the GAP Analysis and Plan of Actions and Milestones (POAM) and the System Security Plan.

The CMMC model was designed by the Office Undersecretary of Defense for Acquisition and Sustainment (OUSD A&S) in conjunction with the IT security industry, to protect Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) that is shared or created by contractors and subcontractor of the Department of Defense through acquisition programs.

If your company is a part of the DoD supply chain or plan to be in a near future as either a contractor or subcontractor then you must be CMMC Certified.

If your supply chain has access to FCI or CUI data, systems or network infrastructure then the responsibility to uphold CMMC requirements will also extend to your supply chain.

The very first thing to do as an Organization Seeking for Certification (OSC) is to find out which type of sensitive information your company is handling, controlled, stored, transmitted and disposal. There are two type of sensitive information, Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

Level 1 CMMC Requirements are for anyone who receives and handles FCI, the basic security requirements for Level 1 are current listed in Federal Acquisition Regulation FAR 52.20421.

Level 2 CMMC Requirements are for any contractor or subcontractor who receives and handles CUI. The advance security requirements for Level 2 are the 110 practices of NIST SP 800-171

Level 3 CMMC Requirements are for any contractor or subcontractor who receives, generate and handle critical sensitive CUI information. The DoD estimated that as few as 160 companies will fall into this category. The enhance security requirements for Level 3 are the 110 practices of NIST SP 800-172 plus addition 20 expert practices.

The process to be ready for a CMMC Audit may take from 6 to 14 months depending on the complexity of you operation, the CUI environment and current CUI handling management. Additionally, the security level is required to be evaluated in order to align the security requirements and define a tailored System Security Plan. Thus, the very first thing your company needs to do, is start as soon as you can and get the support of a CMMC Certified Professional (CCP) approved by the  CMMC Accreditation Body.

The main activities to perform to be ready for a CMMC Audit are the following:

  • Define the scope of CMMC and compliance level
  • Perform a NIST SP 800 171 Control Assessment
  • Perform a CMMC Risk Assessment
  • Perform a Gap Analysis and define the Plan of Action and Milestones (POAM)
  • Develop the System Security Plan
  • Document and implement the security controls correction based on the POAM
  • Monitor the progress of the effectiveness of the security controls
  • Prepare all documents and systems for a formal C3PAO
  • Select the C3PAO company to schedule the CMMC Audit.